Wednesday, December 14, 2011

This Is What He Told Me...

Another chill night with nothing  much to do.. watchin a little TV, having a few drinks..and he begins to tell me about how he intended on  going out.. but his money got fucked up because he had to get his homeboy out of jail.  So I'm like "What the hell? Your homeboy is a grown ass man. He made his bed he has to lay in it. Why should you sacrifice what you have for someone who may not even pay you back?"  He told me that was his right-hand man... they grew up together. They've been through a  lot and held each other down through it all. He had no choice.  Plus, their other man had been shot and killed a few months back so they have to look out for each other by any means.  So I say, "I thought you told me that you was gonna quit this street shit. And here you go doing the same things with the same people and getting the same results.  You dont even WANT a better life do you?"

There was a brief pause.  He looked at me and yelled, "HELL YEAH I WANT A BETTER LIFE! DON'T YOU SEE ME OUT HERE TRYING TO DO THIS SHIT!  IM OUT HERE TRYING TO GET MONEY! THE ONLY NIGGAS IVE SEEN BE SUCCESSFUL ARE THE ONES WHO ARE OUT HERE GETTIN MONEY!! I remember being a little boy, walking to the store for my mom and being amazed when a young black man rode by in a nice car with the newest jays on, bumpin the newest music.  I remember what it was like to look at them, and then look at myself, and feel like I was nothing. I remember the day when someone came up to me and asked me if I wanted to make some money.  Hell, I even remember the first night I came home after being on the streets all day.  As I held that wad of money I promised myself that I would do whatever it took to never be broke again.  Problem is, I only knew ONE way to make money.  See, you had someone there to tell you to work hard, stay in school, and do the right things.  You and your friends graduated, yall going to get money.  Me and my friends, all we do is hustle.  Yeah I want to be successful but I can't do it like yall.  Its too late for me to start back trying to go to school and find a good job.  I have no skills, no diplomas, and no job history.  Im trying to switch over from a street nigga to a legit nigga but it is hard! And it takes a while.  What do you want me to do in the meantime? Starve?  Its hard to teach yourself how to do right when everyone you look up to is a hustler. Its like I have to throw away everything I ever learned how to do and start over.  Its hard out here when you don't know what your next move is going to be, but that's just the things that I have to go through."

I had no response.  He was far from a punk but I could tell that this man was hurting. Shit. What DO we tell the kids that we let slip through the cracks?  If the streets raised you, what options DO you have? If you have no one to lean on for guidance, will you just fall? Are we doing what we can to help our kids maximize their chances for success? Do we care? There are far too many people who can relate to what he told me. Often times, we blame THEM for not reaching their potential when all they may have needed was a helping hand, and a little guidance along the way.

Intervene...Save the Kids... Stop the Cycle...

2 comments:

  1. This was such an amazing post. He's very right. I guess it's just all about little steps at a time, then before you know it, you're a completely changed person!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you so much! It was the passion in his voice that really struck me, and I was like "Wow.. he really feels as if he has no options." If we have the ability to help, we shouldn't let people feel like they have reached the dead end road of life...

    ReplyDelete