Tuesday, April 9, 2013

My Response to LL's Verse on 'Accidental Racist'

WHAT IN THE ENTIRE FUCK WERE YOU THINKING DUDE? 

So this was your big chance to address the black experience in the American South and you chose to tell white people that we would forget the iron chains (aka 400+ years of brutal chattel slavery, rape, murder, degradation and mutilation) if they didn't judge our gold chains? Really?

So you're just going to tell white people that they can wear swastikas and confederate flags if they accept our du-rags (DU-RAGS... something that NONE of us black folks even wear anymore).

You REALLY thought it was a good idea to tell white people that they don't know what its like to live in the hood, and not to judge your sagging pants? Surprised you didn't tell them to buy us all fried chicken and "Free My Baby Daddy" TShirts.

Whelp, I guess I should be happy that you were able to display  manners by addressing your hypothetical audience as "Mr. White Man" , and telling him that you want him to get paid, and that you would love to buy him a beer and "conversate". (*PAUSE* No one was able to inform you that conversate is NOT a word? None of your producers, writers, editors, publicists, NO ONE advised you against using a made up epithet? Damn.)

And then those ignorant ass ad-libs at the end REALLY got me. Of course you had to let everyone know (on a country song about a white man in the American South) that you are not from the South, because that was so relevant.  Then you made sure you told us, multiple times, that we should "let bygones be bygones" and forget the past. Yeah, ignore our history. That's right. It isn't like our existence is rooted in our history at all. No, no, no...we should let the past be the past. Forget where we came from. A tree can survive without its roots, right?

Oh, and the shoutout to Robert E. Lee and Abraham Lincoln for "freeing" you (aka the slaves), cute. Except you neglected the small fact that Abraham Lincoln NEVER had the best interest of the slaves in mind. He didn't even like black people.  Thanks for not giving a mention to any of our great pioneers. Thanks for not acknowledging our resiliency and strength. Thanks a lot.

Quite frankly Mr. LL Cool J, sir... YOU FUCKED UP. That was some of the most embarrassing shit I have seen to date.  If I may offer a few words of advice: just stick to licking your lips and taking sexy pictures.  Keep your mouth closed on the racial issues next time, okay? We'd really appreciate it.

Sincerely,
A Black Woman from the South who has never worn sagging pants, gold chains, or du-rags

No comments:

Post a Comment