So, Reebok decided to stop endorsing Rick Ross over his controversial lyrics in the song "U.O.E.N.O.". In the song, Rick Ross says "put molly in her champagne, she ain't even know it, I took her home and enjoyed that, she ain't even know it." The lyrics gained a lot of attention, especially by prominent feminist groups and on social media outlets such as Twitter. People were PISSED. How dare he say such things? How dare he condone date rape? How dare Reebok support him? Rick Ross offered a couple of half-assed apologies, saying that everyone "misinterpreted" his lyrics, and that he never actually used the word rape yada, yada, yada. Anywho, the fake ass apology didn't fly and Ross ended up losing his endorsement.
First of all let me start off my saying I WOULD NEVER, EVER, EVER SUPPORT OR CONDONE ANY FUCKTARD WHO THINKS IT IS OKAY TO HAVE SEX WITH WOMEN WHEN "they don't even know it". I WOULD NEVER, EVER, EVER CONDONE OR SUPPORT RAPE IN ANY WAY, SHAPE OR FORM.
Also, I love rap music. I love hip hop. I love lyrics. I love beats. I love the genre. I do NOT love the way that women have been constantly disrespected, objectified and exploited through rap music.
Now. Let's take a little look at the genre of rap/hiphop in general. For this blog posts sake let's stick with mainstream rap. This is no where near the first time (and I can guarantee that it will not be the last time) we have seen rap lyrics that glorify rape and misogyny. Why have we let this continue for so long? Why are we allowing our sons and daughters to idolize these childish, immature bigots? This has been going on forever, and we need to withdraw support from this type of behavior, IMMEDIATELY. Don't believe me, check out this list of '32 Overlooked Rape Lyrics in Rap' >>> http://smokingsection.uproxx.com/TSS/2013/04/50-absurd-rape-lyrics#page/1... and this is a small list.
Those lyrics were disgusting, right? Why no national outcry? Why no protests of those artists? Why have we (collectively) accepted this bullshit?
While I completely and wholeheartedly agree with Reebok's decision to withdraw their support from Rick Ross, I must ask when Reebok decided to care about Ross' lyrical content. Did they not realize that he has been rapping about drugs, violence, and disrespect towards women for his entire rap career? Likewise, while I am elated that people decided to take a stand against this disgusting "rape culture" that seems to be increasing, I must ask WHY NOW? Why are we just NOW denouncing these type of lyrics on a large scale?
We have really got to do better. People always say "oh its just a song" or "they're just lyrics" and "its only entertainment" but we do realize that media heavily influences people's thoughts, which in return affects people's actions, right? And by people I mean the youth. It is the youth who are most influenced by the media and celebrity actions. And the youth are our future. We have to start giving them appropriate examples to live by, and insisting that inappropriate examples no longer be romanticized. If we do not lead, mentor and support the next generation, who will?
There is soooo much more that I would like to say on the topic of respecting our women, women respecting themselves, the horrendous act of rape and the idiotic support that violent language and images receive... but those will be other posts for other days. For now, I just want to say to everyone: DO BETTER. We deserve better. The next generation deserves better. I am not willing to destroy all morale just to preserve (inappropriate) entertainment. We have got to start supporting more positive images of ourselves. We have got to start providing more positive images of ourselves. We have got to start leading by example. Our LIVES depend on it.
We may have won a small battle (getting a corporate sponsor to publicly denounce Rick Ross on behalf of his harmful, rape-promoting lyrics) but we most definitely have not won the war. Although we CAN WIN THE WAR if we take a stand and refuse to tolerate blatant disrespect and counterproductive entertainment.
I am willing to take that stand for our future. Are you?

So they don't support rape but the support coke dealing and killing? Are they saying that they choosing the lesser of the evils and rape was the straw that broke the camels back?
ReplyDeleteI guess. In my opinion, they only took a stand because the issue received so much.attention. That's bullshit. All of those things are wrong and harmful to young minds and society. We shouldn't pick the "worst" evil, we should want better for our society.
Delete